
APPLICATION FOR RECERTIFICATION 

When is my application due?

The application is due on or before the end of your current certification term. Applications may be 
submitted in advance but no earlier than six months prior to the end of your term. 

Where do I mail my application? 
Department of Legal Specialization 
State Bar of California 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105-1617

Have I included the correct fee?
A $350 processing fee, payable either via check or credit card to the State Bar of California, is due with the 
application.  

What happens if I don't fill out my application correctly?

If your application is incomplete or insufficient on its face, you will receive notice to correct the deficiency. 
If you fail to correct the deficiency within 60 days from the date of the notice, the application shall be 
deemed withdrawn without a refund of the fee. We may request additional or supplemental non-
confidential information in order to show compliance with recertification requirements. 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SELECTED QUESTIONS AND ATTACHMENTS

Application Form

Box 1.  Enter your official State Bar name and address of record. This is the information that appears 
in State Bar Membership Records. To verify that the information is current, go to www.calbar.ca.gov, 
Attorney Search. If the information is not current, you must update your information pursuant to section 
6002.1 of the B&P Code, through My State Bar Profile. 
Please be aware that all correspondence will be sent to you at your official address of record 

registered with the State Bar Office of Membership Records.

Box 9. Section 3.113 of the Rules provides that the Advisory Commission may take the 
following into account in considering your application: 

Final disciplinary actions imposed for professional misconduct by any court or body before whom you 
appear. Include: (1) title of disciplinary action; (2) action number; (3) nature of charge; (4) nature of 
sanction; (5) date sanction was imposed; and (6) date sanction was terminated. For non-attorney 
professional discipline (e.g., accountancy), provide information similar to the above. 

Felony convictions. Provide the case number, title, date of conviction, and where it was filed. 

Resignation from any bar, court, or body before whom you appear. Provide the name of the entity, the 
effective resignation date, and the reason. 

Judgments of professional negligence. Include only if there were three or more judgments against 
you during the certification term. Provide the case number, title, date judgment was rendered, and where 
it was filed. 

Sanctions. Include only sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, of $1,000 or more. Provide a copy 
of the order. 

Findings of contempt. Provide a copy of the findings 
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Attachments 

A. Task and Experience Requirement 

Refer to the Standards for your specialty area for the specific requirements. 

B. Education Requirement 
Note that your educational compliance is reported along with your MCLE Compliance Group, rather 
than as a part of this packet. For your convenience and benefit, this packet contains Attachment B in 
which you confirm that you are aware that you will report your compliance along with your reporting 
group, and that you know the compliance group to which you are assigned. Note that you must 
report in the MCLE Compliance Group to which you were assigned at the time of admission to the 
State Bar of California.  

As you are completing your education, please refer to www.californiaspecialist.org for information 
about qualifying courses and be sure to keep your certificates of attendance for at least one year 
from your compliance group reporting deadline. 

C. References 
When listing a reference, please include the attorney’s bar number. To find an attorney’s or judge’s 
bar number, go to www.calbar.ca.gov, Attorney Search. 

CHECKLIST

Have you: 

 Read the affirmation? 
 Provided all information requested on the application and attachments? 
 Signed and dated the application? 
 Attached additional sheets if you needed more space? 
 Put your name on the top of all attachments? 
 Made copies for your records? 
 Enclosed a check/credit card information for the appropriate recertification fee? 

RESOURCES

Please refer to the Standards for your specialty area as you complete the application and materials.

The Rules, Standards, and list of approved legal specialization education providers are available 
online at www.californiaspecialist.org.  
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CALIFORNIA BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION 
OF THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA   
OFFICE OF ADMISSIONS   
180 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94105-1617 
PHONE:  (415) 538-2120 FAX:  (415) 538-2180 
 EMAIL:  legalspec@calbar.ca.gov      

APPLICATION FOR RECERTIFICATION 
Franchise and Distribution Law Certified Specialist 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE. 

1. Name (exactly as it appears on your State Bar Profile):

________________________________________________________

2. Address (as it appears on your State Bar Profile)
Street:  ___________________________________________________________________________________

City:  _____________________________________  State:  ___  Zip:  __________

 
  

3. Bar Number:
______________

4. Daytime Phone Number:
__________________________

5. E-mail Address:
__________________________________________________________________

6.

7.

8.

I have been engaged in the practice of franchise and distribution law for at least 25% of the time spent in 
my occupational endeavors during the previous five (5) years. 
  Yes      No  

I hereby apply for recertification as a franchise and distribution law specialis t  under the State Bar of 
California Program for Certifying Legal Specialists.

Date Certified:  ________________    Date Most Recently Certified:     _________________

At the time of application for recertification, I am an active member of the State Bar of California.
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If NO, please explain on a separate sheet and attach to this application.

Yes           No        

If NO, STOP HERE. You are not eligible to apply. 



9. The following is a complete statement of my employment since my most recent application:  LIST MOST RECENT
EMPLOYMENT FIRST. ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET IF NECESSARY.

     CHECK HERE IF ADDITIONAL SHEETS ARE ATTACHED 

Dates of 
Employment Employer Employer’s Address 

Nature of Employment 
(summarize nature of 

work performed) 

10. During the current certification term:

a. Have you been disbarred, suspended or disciplined by the State Bar of California or similar
attorney disciplinary authority or any other authority that imposes professional discipline in
California, or in another state or jurisdiction, including a foreign jurisdiction?

  Yes       No 

b.

c.

Have you had any felony convictions?

d.

Did you resign from any bar, court or body before whom you appear?

e.

Have there been three or more judgments of professional negligence against you? (If yes,
please attach the relevant documents.)

  Yes       No 

  Yes       No 

  Yes        No  

f.

Have any sanctions, other than discovery sanctions, been entered against you by any court
or body before whom you appear?

  Yes       No 

Have any findings of contempt been made against you by any court or body before whom
you appear?

  Yes       No 

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE ABOVE, YOU MUST PROVIDE FULL DETAILS ON A SEPARATE SHEET. A record of 
discipline or failure to disclose any information requested above may constitute grounds for denial of your application.

Recertification Application Page 4 of 11 09 Franchise and Distribution



DECLARATION 

I hereby authorize all educational institutions, governmental agencies and instrumentalities (including bar associations 
and bar examiners of other jurisdictions), employers and business and professional associates (past and present), to 
release to the State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization (“CBLS”) and/or its agents or advisors any 
nonprivileged information, files or records requested for the purpose of processing this application. The foregoing 
release does not apply to matters communicated by me in confidence to any lawyer, spouse, physician, psychotherapist 
or clergyperson for which I have privilege of nondisclosure under the provisions of Chapter 4, Division 8 of the California 
Evidence Code. 

I further authorize the CBLS to conduct independent inquiry and review, including contacting the references I provide 
and other references within the discretion of the CBLS and agree that neither I nor my agents will seek to review the 
materials collected during the evaluation of my application. 

I agree to pay all fees required by the CBLS. 

I agree to abide by all rules and regulations of the CBLS as amended from time to time and to furnish to the CBLS such 
information as it may require to evaluate my application. 

I am the applicant herein for certification as a specialist under the State Bar of California Program for Certifying Legal 
Specialists. I fully understand that failure to make a truthful disclosure of any fact, item or information required may 
result in the denial of my application, revocation of my certificate of specialization, or disciplinary action by the State Bar 
of California. I have carefully read and answered each question completely and truthfully in the foregoing application 
and any attachments hereto, and certify that the information therein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct and that 
this declaration is executed on: 

Date:  

Print Name: 

Signature: 
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TASK AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT 
ATTACHMENT A 

Applicant Name: Bar Number: 

The Franchise and Distribution Law Advisory Commission may require additional evidence of completion of 
tasks and experience as indicated in this Attachment A. 

Within the five years immediately preceding submission of this application, please demonstrate that you have been 
substantially involved in the practice of franchise and distribution law as demonstrated by performance of the tasks listed 
below (see section 2.0 of the Standards for a definition of “substantial involvement”): 

You must submit a total of at least 100 points. Points may be accumulated from any of the tasks, subject to the 
maximums specified per task. 

EACH TASK MAY BE COUNTED IN ONLY ONE CATEGORY. 

NOTE:  For each section below in which you claim 20 or more points, provide a brief narrative statement summarizing 
your experience in that area and include the statement as Attachment A-1. To the extent that you can identify your 
professional activities that are not confidential (e.g., captions of cases, franchise registration applications or trademark 
applications in which you are listed as counsel of record, etc.), please do so, begin sure to protect client confidentiality and 
privilege. 

SECTION DESCRIPTION NUMBER OF 
MATTERS 

NUMBER OF 
POINTS 

CLAIMED 

2.1 Representing the franchisor in the structuring of a franchise program, 
including the drafting of the franchise agreement and related 
documentation (including any disclosure documents required by law): 5 
points per franchise program.  Maximum number of points in this 
category:  35 

2.2 Representing the supplier in the structuring of a distribution program 
other than a franchise program, including the drafting of the distribution 
agreement and related documentation:  5 points per distribution 
program.  Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.3 Preparing and filing of (i) regulatory applications for initial registration, or (ii) 
substantive applications for renewal, or (iii) substantive post-effective 
amendments of a franchise program. Individual applications and applications for 
coordinated review may be used to satisfy this requirement.  5 points per 
separate program.  Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.4 Representing a current or prospective franchisee or franchisor in connection with 
the acquisition or transfer of a new or existing franchise.   5 points per matter or 
transaction.  Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

Recertification Application Page 6 of 11 09 Franchise and Distribution



SECTION DESCRIPTION NUMBER OF 
MATTERS 

NUMBER OF 
POINTS 

CLAIMED 

2.5 Representing a current or prospective distributor in connection with the 
acquisition or transfer of a new or existing distribution agreement.  5 
points per matter or transaction.  Maximum number of points in this 
category:  35 

2.6 Representing the seller or purchaser, with respect to the franchise or distribution 
law issues, in a merger or acquisition involving a franchise or distribution 
program consisting of at least 10 franchisees or distributors, in a single or related 
series of transactions.  5 points per each separate acquisition. Maximum 
number of points in this category:  35 

2.7 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis regarding the application or 
non-application of the franchise or distribution laws in the United States in 
connection with a commercial relationship.  5 points per matter or transaction. 
Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.8 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis regarding the applicable 
franchise or distribution laws in connection with a cross-border franchise or 
distribution matter or transaction which is inbound to or outbound from the United 
States.  5 points per matter or transaction.  Maximum number of points in this 
category:  35 

2.9 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis regarding the cancellation, 
termination or non-renewal of a franchise or distribution agreement.  5 points per 
matter or transaction.  Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.10 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis to associations of 
franchisees or distributors, or assisting in negotiations on behalf of any 
associations of franchisees or distributors, in connection with franchise 
or distribution law matters.  5 points per matter or transaction. 
Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.11 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis involving antitrust 
or unfair competition law issues relating to franchise or distribution 
relationships.  5 points per matter or transaction.  Maximum number of 
points in this category:  35 

2.12 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis involving 
advertising or consumer protection law issues relating to franchise or 
distribution relationships.  5 points per matter or transaction.  Maximum 
number of points in this category:  35 

2.13 Representing a party in litigation as its principal attorney where matters 
of franchise or distribution law are among the main contested issues.  5 
points per separate litigation case if at least 250 hours are billed by the 
attorney on the case; 10 points per separate litigation case if at least 500 
hours are billed by the attorney on the case; or 15 points per separate 
litigation case if at least 750 hours are billed by the attorney on the case.  
Maximum number of points in this category:  60 
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SECTION DESCRIPTION NUMBER OF 
MATTERS 

NUMBER OF 
POINTS 

CLAIMED 

2.14 Preparing or opposing a motion for summary judgment or other 
dispositive motion in litigation where matters of franchise or distribution 
law are among the main contested issues.  5 points per separate 
litigation case.  Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.15 Preparing briefs in litigation on appeal to any appellate court where: (i) 
the attorney is the principal attorney responsible for authoring the 
brief(s); and (ii) matters of franchise or distribution law are among the 
main issues on appeal.  5 points per separate litigation case.  Maximum 
number of points in this category:  35 

2.16 Conducting the principal oral argument before any appellate court for 
litigation on appeal where matters of franchise or distribution law are 
among the main issues in the oral argument.  5 points per separate 
litigation case.  Maximum number of points in this category: 35  

2.17 Acting as the principal attorney in devising and implementing the 
litigation strategy in connection with pending or threatened litigation 
where matters of franchise or distribution law are expected to be among 
the main contested issues.  5 points per separate litigation case. 
Maximum number of points in this category:  35 

2.18 Representing a party in a formal mediation as its principal attorney 
where matters of franchise or distribution law are among the main 
contested issues.  5 points per separate formal mediation case. 
Maximum number of points in this category: 35 

2.19 Acting as the principal attorney in devising and implementing a formal 
compliance program for a client following the entry of a court order or 
other binding order or award against the client in any litigation where 
matters of franchise or distribution laws are among the main issues.  5 
points per separate litigation case.  Maximum number of points in this 
category: 35 

2.20 Acting as an expert witness or legal consultant in litigation where matters 
of franchise or distribution law are among the main contested issues.  5 
points per separate litigation case.  Maximum number of points in this 
category: 35 
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SECTION DESCRIPTION NUMBER OF 
MATTERS 

NUMBER OF 
POINTS 

CLAIMED 

2.21 Acting as a judge, arbitrator or mediator in any litigation or formal 
mediation where matters of franchise or distribution law are among the 
main contested issues.  5 points per separate litigation or mediation 
case.  Maximum number of points in this category: 35 

2.22 Providing substantive written legal advice or analysis regarding other 
material issues concerning a franchise or distribution relationship not 
otherwise covered above.  5 points per matter or transaction.  Maximum 
number of points in this category: 35 

TOTAL (minimum 100 
pts) 
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*NEW EDUCATION REPORTING SCHEDULE
ATTACHMENT B 

Applicant Name:  Bar Number: 

The Legal Specialist Education requirement is no longer reported in the recertification application. 
Attorneys now report their Legal Specialist Education by submitting a Legal Specialization Education 
Compliance Card. The Compliance Card can be found online at www.californiaspecialist.org under the 
forms section.  

Attorneys are required to complete a total of 36-hours of approved education every three years. 
Compliance Groups and reporting deadlines are listed below:

Does the new education reporting period affect my recertification deadline?
No.  You will still be due to recertify every five (5) years. Please do not submit a compliance card 
with your recertification application, if you have already submitted a compliance card or if you are not due 
to report your Legal Specialist Education. 

How do I submit my Legal Specialist Education Compliance Card?
Once you have completed and signed the Legal Specialist Education Compliance Card, you can submit it to 
The Department of Legal Specialization either via mail, fax or e-mail. 

Isn’t reporting my Legal Specialist Education the same as reporting my MCLE compliance?
No. Your Legal Specialist Education is reported on compliance card and your MCLE compliance is reported 
online on My State Bar Profile.

What if I am a certified in more than one specialty?
During your compliance period, you will need to submit a Legal Specialization Education Compliance 
Card for each specialty. For example, if you are a dual specialist, you will have to submit a compliance card 
for each area of law in which you are a specialist.

Can I submit my compliance card before my Compliance Group is due to report?
No. Compliance cards will only be accepted for the Compliance Group due to report. Any other compliance 
cards sent to The Department of Legal Specialization will be not be marked as received. 

How do I report my education if I was certified after the compliance group period?
You will have a reduced and proportional educational requirement. You will have to report at least 1 hour for 
each month that you were certified. For example, if your compliance period is from February 1, 2012- 
January 31, 2015 and you were certified in September 2014, you would have to report at least 5 hours of 
legal specialist education.

Compliance Group 1 (Last Name A-G at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2016
Compliance Group 2 (Last Name H-M at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2018
Compliance Group 3 (Last Name N-Z at the time of Admission to the State Bar) 2/1/2017

Some FAQs about this process:

Do I need to send in my certificates of attendance?
No. Please save them for one year after you report your education compliance in the event that you are 
audited.

For more information, visit the resources page on www.californiaspecialist.org for full details, as well as 
potentially qualifying MCLE substitutions.
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INDEPENDENT INQUIRY AND REVIEW 
ATTACHMENT C 

Applicant Name:  Bar Number: 

Please submit the names of a minimum of three attorneys or judges who have had an opportunity to observe your 
work and who can attest to your proficiency in the practice of the specialty area under the laws applicable to the 
specialty in California. 

To expedite your application, please include the following among your references if possible:  opposing counsel, 
attorneys from other firms, and judges, commissioners or magistrates before whom you have appeared. 
References may include attorneys who are clients, partners, associates, employers or employees.  Note, however, 
that references will be asked to disclose any such relationship. 

References will be contacted by the State Bar of California via questionnaire.  The information gathered shall be the 
property of the State Bar of California and shall not be revealed to you.  

Include each reference’s California bar membership number to insure that reference forms are sent promptly and to 
the right individual. Bar membership numbers can be found online at www.calbar.ca.gov under Attorney Search. If 
the attorney does not have a California Bar membership number or is a judge, please provide a full address. 

NAME AND BAR NUMBER ADDRESS 

1. 

2. 

 3. 

 4. 

5. 

6. 
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CALIFORNIA BOARD OF LEGAL SPECIALIZATION 
OF THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA  

180 HOWARD STREET 
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94105-2120 
TELEPHONE: (415) 538-2120 
FAX: (415) 538-2180 
WEBSITE: www.californiaspecialist.org

Credit Card Authorization Form 

Date: 

Attorney Name: Bar Number: 

Description Fee 

Legal Specialization Recertification Application Fee $350 

I authorize the State Bar of California to charge my credit card for $ 

(This form may not be used to pay dues or other attorney fees; it only may be used to pay 
fees related to Legal Specialization. Please print legibly.) 

Credit Card Number: 

Credit Card Security Code: Expiration Date (Month/Year): 

Credit Card Type:     Visa MasterCard 

Name on Card (print legibly): 

Signature of Card Holder: 

SUBMISSION INFORMATION 

MAIL FORM TO: 
The State Bar of California 
Department of Legal Specialization 
180 Howard Street 
San Francisco, CA 94105 

OR 

FAX FORM TO: 

(415) 538-2180 

Address: 

City, State, Zip: 

Telephone Number: 

E-mail Address:  
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